ALA Annual Conference 2013

ALA15ChicagoITIGPalmerHouseRoomSaturday, June 29
 8:30-10am.I had business-y things to do. Of course those are early in the morning… I attended the Interest Group and Committee Chairs (LITA)  attending a Chairs meeting (although transitioning from Vice Chair, a Chair as of 2013 – long story) – see LITA IG Chairs agenda. I facilitated the Instructional Technology meeting and presented some examples from UNT Libraries I was involved in (tutorial templates, Blackboard, etc.) to get the conversation going. Also from the board was the new secretary Soujourna (thank goodness I didn’t have to take notes and present). http://ala13.ala.org/node/11061 

_

ALA15ChicagoLearnRTwStaceyJune 30, 2013 Saturday, June 29, 2013 – 3:00pm to 4:00pmI had an invited presentation for LearnRT Training Showcase “Developing Technology Instruction Sessions: The 5 P Model” with poster. Picture to the left, with the awesome Dr. Stacey Schrank

_

ALA2013ChicagowLoisBuckmanF451
July 1st: Book on Fire: celebrating the 60th Anniversary of Fahrenheit 451. We got a free copy of the book! I liked the “Do what you love and love what you do”–Bradbury quote. I learned Bradbury wrote screenplay for Huston’s Moby Dick.  I didn’t know that, but I thought it was cool as a “classic film buff.” I got a free  To my left, censorship fighter & Librarian Lois! See also: #banned books # ala2013

_

_

ChicagoYouMediaSign
I also checked out YOUMedia Chicago, which describes itself as a ” a 21st century teen learning space at Chicago Public Library. ” (YOUMedia Chicago Landing Page). There were listings of upcoming workshops, books and some interesting technologies. For more information, visit Chicago Public Library’s YouMedia page.

Comments Off on ALA Annual Conference 2013

Filed under American Library Association, Conference

Comments are closed.